top of page

Kingswraith series by Derek E Pearson

Book #2 - And the Vadhaka 

Book #1 - Taste no pity 


When Scotland Yard involved the Professor and his young ward Martin Kingswraith in the strange case of the ‘Depleted Men’, neither of those skilled white wizards, or Lux Texentes, could foresee the terrible dangers they would face. In the soot-coated cobbled streets of late Victorian London, Kingswraith must overcome his greatest challenge or perish in the attempt.

Kingswraith would receive help from the strangest quarters, not least Penelope Epimeliad and the mysterious children who haunted the stone forests of London town, children who had once been tree sprites in Britain’s magnificent primordial woodlands when mammoths still trumpeted in the frozen wilds.

The children now lived in a vast Roman reservoir under the Tower of London, from which they would emerge as a force of good, dedicated to fighting evil, bringing aid and comfort to the innocent, and food to the downtrodden masses. It was they who created the Depleted Men, actually wicked murderers, using ancient enchantments to suck the minerals from the killers’ bodies, leaving behind a shell of soft, jelly-like protein.

Penelope recognises Kingswraith’s unique qualities as a scion of the house of Pendragon and she brings her own immense powers to bear to prepare him for his inevitable battle against sinister Haven Slighe, one of the ten Viventem Nominis Umbra, or malevolent Lords of Living Shadow.

Slighe is a forceful mage. He and his nine fellows are a pitiless force of darkness driven towards reducing civilisation to its lowest possible ebb so they feed from humanity’s despair. They will encourage any wickedness, drunkenness and lechery, until the whole population is lost without God or hope of redemption.

The Lux Texentes has been standing in their way, but the Umbra has been cutting them down at every opportunity. To take Kingswraith, Haven Slighe captures the Professor. To save him Kingswraith must face Slighe alone, and afraid.


About the Author

Derek E Pearson is a Foreword Indies BOOK AWARDS FINALIST .

GODS' Warrior (Fantasy)

GODS' Fool (Fantasy)
GODS' Enemy (Fantasy)
Star Weaver (Science Fiction)


Kingswraith: And the Vadhaka is Derek E Pearson’s third young adult fiction, after Taste no Pity.

As a Norwich School of Art graduate he’s also illustrated children’s stories including one on wildlife conservation, Tulsi the Tiget.

And he’s written a historical/romance fiction Celluloid Peach.

Four of Pearson’s novels are finalists in the international Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards, including all three volumes in his science fiction/fantasy Preacher Spindrift series. Altogether he's written a dozen novels in that genre

He has also worked in publishing and journalism, specialising in the dental industry with his online magazine Dental Review.



Fiction | Fantasy & Magical Realism
Fiction | Fantasy

And the Vadhaka - isbn: 9781912031153 paperback | 9781912031337 eBook
Taste no Pity - isbn: 781912576135 paperback | 9781912576142 eBook

Kingswraith series - by Derek E Pearson

£10.99 Regular Price
£7.69Sale Price
bottom of page